a start of a new journey – learning yoga

The first experience with yoga was in last quarter of 2012 at a activity centre for awareness and wellness. I started off with a goal of fixing a regular exercise regime to get the body in shape. The fact that yoga is gentle to the body, and has many proven benefits to overall health, made it a good choice, plus the course name I signed up was called “Gentle Yoga”.

The weekly lessons went on for over a year, with breaks in between, due to my work commitment and holidays; and the teacher having to go retreat and holidays. Nevertheless, I enjoyed the sessions and find myself being able to bend forward to touch my toes without too much pain. I was not even able to bend this low when I was much young in my teens.

Until end of 2013, the idea of wanting to learn yoga at a greater depth, took root in my mind. I have benefited from those lessons, e.g. learning how to breath properly, and I thought won’t it be great to be able to share this science with more people?

So I signed up for a diploma course at a yoga academy in December 2013 and the course started this week.

I hope to share my thoughts with through my experience of learning yoga in preparation to become a teacher. May this journey be one that is beneficial to all.

2 thoughts on “a start of a new journey – learning yoga

Leave a comment